A Sustainable Investment in Journalism

A sustainable business requires diverse revenue streams. ESG Investor now operates a subscription service as of Tuesday 14th May. To find out more please get in touch with our subscription team on subscriptions@esginvestor.net

Kentucky Publishes Financial Firms Boycott List

Kentucky State Treasurer Allison Ball has released a list of 11 financial companies that it considers to be boycotting energy companies and as a result risk divestment. US asset management giant BlackRock is on the list, along with European asset managers BNP Paribas, Danske Bank, Nordea Bank, Schroders, Svenska Handelsbanken and Swedbank. The move follows a law passed last year by the Kentucky General Assembly directing the state treasurer to publish such a list and divest any company that doesn’t stop engaging in what it terms “energy company boycott”. In August, Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar also published a list of financial companies he considered boycotting energy companies after the passing of a 2021 state law restricting the state’s pension fund and other state entities from investing in companies that divest from fossil fuels. 

The practical information hub for asset owners looking to invest successfully and sustainably for the long term. As best practice evolves, we will share the news, insights and data to guide asset owners on their individual journey to ESG integration.

Copyright © 2024 ESG Investor Ltd. Company No. 12893343. ESG Investor Ltd, Fox Court, 14 Grays Inn Road, London, WC1X 8HN

To Top